The Historical Association of South Africa (HASA) launched this award in recognition of Professor Johan Bergh who was president of HASA for over two decades. The award is in line with his ongoing commitment to promote History at postgraduate level. The award is given to deserving third-year students in History at every participating university in South Africa. The winners will receive a year’s subscription to Historia and their names will be announced in the first issue of Historia in the subsequent year.

All History departments at universities in South Africa offering postgraduate studies in History are eligible to participate. The selection of the winner is an internal decision by the respective department chairs and their colleagues. The names of the winners must be sent to the Editor of Historia by 1 December of each year. Award forms will be available from the secretary of HASA at email:

The HASA executive board looks forward to showcasing our top achievers in their third year of study and trusts that this achievement will encourage them to pursue their study of History at postgraduate level.